SHOW REVIEW: Megadeth – 12/11/13 ACL Live, AUSTIN TX

Contributed by Tristan Spears

Financially this has been the worst year for my family, and especially this month. Xmas, my birthday, we are struggling to make ends meet.

39-exl

I was looking forward to going to see Megadeth on December 11th, but once I realized there’s no way to afford a  ticket, I let it settle in that I wasn’t gonna go. Today though, today dec 5th, 6 days until Megadeth at Acl Live the best thing that could have happened , happened. I won a pair of tickets on 93.7 KLBJ, THE ROCK OF AUSTIN!!! I’m fucking goin to MEGADETH!!!! (Ya I’ve seen them plenty of time, but it never gets old for me)

The day is upon us! It’s the day of MEGA who……MEGADETH!!!! It’s 8:15 there’s a small crowd of maybe 500 people in the whole theater.

First band is Nonpoint. Idk anything about them. The crowd is having literally ZERO fuckin reaction and the band sounds like its from the Mrs. Fields fucking cookie cutter factory! The guitarists act like they’re in a “Hardcore” band (hardcore in quotes cause hardcore ain’t hardcore and more) while the drummer thinks he’s in Soulfly. Needles to say (then why say it) the drummer is the best part.  Although the band does have the Flood lights in the cabs which I’ve always been a fan of. I just love when a band has theatrics. As long as they WORK. This band is like “Korn meets Static X”

Up next is Fear Factory and even though I have never fallowed them at all, I am excited to see them.

Not being wise to Fear Factory I must say I like what what I’m hearing/seeing. I’m getting the feeling of Ministry but without their industrial aspect. Yeah there’s the same style chugging that the crappy “hardcore” bands are doing now a days, but this… This is done correctly.  Of course when I say industrial I base my idea of industrial off of Ministry ( RIP MIKE SCACCIA) and Skinny Puppy, Mortiis,  etc. This is nothing like that. It’s as if Mike Scaccia was playing lazily and didn’t give a fuck. It’d still be good, but not great. As the Fear Factory set comes to an end, I realize that the guitarist Dino; in every song starts or at least has the same style chugging, but somehow… (Maybe its because as a guitarist my ears are tuned for this shit) it always sounds different. I give’em a 6 outta 10.

The crowd swells to about 1500 and
Megadeth comes on 13 minutes early… Open with Hangar 18 and just fuckin BRING IT, as usual. I was not writing this as Megadeth was playing, it was just way to good of a show to not be completely focused on it. They played Peace Sells, She Wolf, Tornado of Souls, Holy Wars, Trust,and more.

Setlist:
Hangar 18
Wake Up Dead
In My Darkest Hour
Tornado of Souls
Sweating Bullets
Set the World Afire
A Tout Le Monde
Kingmaker
Trust
She-Wolf
Symphony of Destruction
Peace Sells
Encore:
Holy Wars… The Punishment Due

All fuckin great songs. As a Megadeth fan, it’s never enough. I was up in the balcony for the show. This was a angle I wasn’t used to seeing my favorites bands in. Acl live is a great venue with good sound and not a bad seat in the house. From my angle I could see all I needed to see of the stage and also enjoy a sky view of glorious PIT. Viewing a mosh pit from above is a new and old school experience .

Just before Holy Wars Dave talked to the audience. I was ready for his usual spill of the mouth about how the government is fucked. Instead he says something about Xmas and finishes quickly with all I want is a government who can get along. I think we can all agree with that.

Over all the show was great and way too short. Until next time Dave!

====

tristan
Tristan Spears was born into a religious family and found his escape in metal at young age. At 15 he hit the open road and traveled all over the U.S. and Canada bangin as many chicks as possible to the best metal every written. Six years ago he arrived in Austin, TX and made it his home. In 2010 he started Motorbreath Entertainment as way to help his friends bands get good shows. It took off quickly and he has booked such acts as Destruction, Exhorder, WARBEAST, Heathen, 3 inches of blood, and many, many more

====

Southern Decay on Facebook

====

39-exl

 

This entry was posted in Show Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

